Food · Recipe

Raisin Bread

Raisin Bread

We made raisin bread! OK, sultana bread, but I have no idea what the difference is and googling is just making things more confusing as everyone thinks differently.

I used this Mortgage Free in Three recipe but with some tweaks:

  • 500g plain flour
  • 220ml water
  • 30ml milk
  • 1 1/2tsp dried yeast
  • 1tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1tsp nutmeg
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1tsp salt
  • 40g sugar
  • 100g sultanas

First off, I weighed out the sultanas and poured 220ml of water from the kettle on them, so that they could plump up before making the dough. I left this to cool until it was hand-hot, rather than scalding hot.

Next I weighed and roughly mixed together the dry ingredients.

I then mixed in the oil, the milk, and the water I drained off the soaking sultanas, using a spatula to stir it all through before starting to bring it all together with my hands. I added the sultanas and then started to knead.

After kneading for five minutes, I put it to one side to rise for a couple of hours, until it was doubled in size and then knocked it back before putting it in a loaf tin and leaving to rise again.

I then put it in the oven for 40 mins at 180 (whilst I was cooking something else, of course).

It’s delicious toasted!

 

 

Leave a Reply

